First Post – Why bother and why now?

Posted: December 21, 2013 in Blogging, General, Musings

Being 47 years of age it was quite straightforward to wake up one morning and think ‘I’m going to write a blog about my version of middle age’. OK, not really. For some time I’ve liked the idea of blogging. A couple of attempts include a World of Warcraft site and a site about trying to get fitter. I lost interest in WoW and my views on fitness changed a lot over the months I wrote about fitness and I ended up being miles away from what I originally thought so I called it quits on those.

As anyone reading this will already have worked out I have very limited skills as a writer and I certainly have enough in my life already to stop it ever becoming anything more than a pastime. I have been looking around for sites about middle age for guys and found little I could relate to. Most seemed to be from a female perspective. The few male ones I did find were about people with far different outlooks to me and the rest were offering to sell me ‘help’ getting through it. But here’s the thing, I’m pretty happy where I am. Sure life can always be better, but I’m looking to enrich my life not lament over times gone by. Could I find any sites like that – not a single one. Hell, I’ll write my own. Who knows, perhaps some one else may be interested in it, kindred spirit perhaps? I can’t be the only guy out there that thinks yeah I’m in my 40’s and pretty cool with it.

I have some experience of this mid-life thing. So I think I have all the qualifications necessary on that score. Next, just writing and laying my thoughts out in this way is a chance to reflect and decide what I want to focus on and what the next goals should be. It should keep me mentally active too. Keep moving or stagnate, and that’s not just a physical thing, it applies mentally too.

Why now? We’re coming to the end of 2013 and I always end the year thinking about how its gone, what’s worked out well and what could have gone better. I also start thinking about the coming year, what do I want to do and one of things that is high up the list is coming up with a reasonable blog. Definition of ‘reasonable’ in my book is something I am happy with, even if no one else notices it as long as I’m happy with it that will do me just fine.

I’m also starting to find technology more daunting than in the past. I think that’s inevitable. I can remember my parents trying to program the VCR (yeah kids, go Google VCR or look in your local museum) with stark terror in their eyes. I’m not quite at that point (yet, gulp!) but writing a blog will give me chance to play around with software I’m not too familiar with and hopefully get better with.

So going into a new year with some new goals seems a good time to start. Crisis, what crisis?

 

Comments
  1. Doobster418 says:

    Good luck with your blog. We all go through different stages in life and each time we reach a new one, we have to take a step back and figure out what it means. I recently became a bona fide senior citizen…you’ve got a ways to go before you get there…and it does require some serious reassessment.

    I’ve been blogging for a number of years, but my blog is not about being a man my age, being a senior citizen, or about anything in particular, actually. It’s just something I do to satisfy my creative juices and to keep my mind sharp (as I do typically research my topics before posting).

    So enjoy. I hope you get as much out of blogging as I do.

Leave a Reply

