Set profanity filter to eleven please, Mr Spock.

Posted: January 6, 2014 in General, Humour, Musings

I’ve recently been enjoying reading posts at Lifehacker. They are generally well written and informative, general tips about how to improve all sorts of life skills. Not the sort of place I’d find much to get upset about. Until I came across this post entitled ‘Create Positive Snowballs to stick to new habits’. So far you are probably looking at the title and wondering about the cause of the issue. Go ahead, read the post.  It’s basically saying start off with small easy to accomplish goals and build up to bigger ones once you get into the habit of accomplishing your goals. I know, you’re still struggling to see the problem. Let me help you, let’s look at the picture:

ku-xlargeNow go look at the comments…

Comment 1 – “I would enjoy the site much more without profanity”

Comment 2 – “I can’t share posts like this with coworkers, and that makes me sad. It also means fewer people will be able to view your ads, if that makes any difference.”

Seriously? WTF? Surely anyone looking at the picture can tell that it has a certain amount of irony, especially when the subject is about setting small goals? I suspect not, they just see the F-word and everything after dissolves in a puddle of self-righteous indignation.

Profanity does not ruin or make any point less important. Tedium however is a very different story.  To comment giver 1, I would enjoy the site far more if you kept your tedious opinions to yourself. If you don’t like what’s written then fuck off to somewhere less offensive to your delicate soul. To comment giver 2, go get some less delicate colleagues, where do you work? The local church? I’m sure the loss of your revenue to whatever advertisers will not push the site into bankruptcy, but if they put up a request for funds as opposed to profanity filtering then I’ll certainly make a donation.

When all is said and done I don’t swear that much, but I sure object to anyone telling me or others ‘Thou shall not’. There is nothing like someone trying to impose their moral compass on me to make me want to tell them where they can stick it.

Oh and to anyone concerned about the level of profanity on this blog, I give you this:

you-cannot-fathom-the-immensity-of-the-fuck-i-do-not-give

Comments
  1. Doobster418 says:

    Fuckin’-A right. I couldn’t fucking agree with you more.

Leave a Reply

