Kettlebell Complex

Posted: January 26, 2014 in Fitness, workouts

I always assumed that as I got fitter doing things at the gym would become easier, the exercises I struggled with in the past would become easier and therefore I’d have an easier time as my fitness improved. In fact there would come a time when I could cruise through a gym workout whilst barely breaking sweat. Great theory, but nothing like reality! Once you can just about do something its time to move onto something else more challenging.

Now my trainer introduced me to kettle bells, which to those of you who have been spared such things look just like this:

kettlebellsThere are all sorts of exercises you can do with these things and as you can see they come in a range of sizes. So the permutations are endless. I’ve used them in the past as part of a workout, but my trainer ‘kindly’ showed me how to do a complex with these things for “a quick full body work out.” Oh its quick all right, I go from fresh-faced to exhausted in about 4 minutes flat. The complex is a series of exercises performed one after the other with two kettlebells. In my case:

  • Press up
  • Stiff leg deadlift
  • Row
  • Swing
  • Clean
  • Reverse lunge
  • Push press

I start off with one of each, then two, then three, then two and then one.

If you think I must be doing this with the big purple kettlebells at the end, I have to disappoint you. Instead I’m using two of those little yellow ones (12 kg each). My workout has 3-4 sets of the complex. I probably spend longer sitting on my ass between sets than it takes to do the set in the first place. Today I managed four sets although I was hardly a thing of beautiful motion towards the end of the last set.

Despite all the gains I’ve made in my fitness, I’m still astounded just how tiring a workout can be and in this case so quickly too. Apparently the trainer wants me to aim for a complex of 1,2,3,4,3,2,1 as opposed to the current 1,2,3,2,1. I have to say that looks like a life-time away. But then again, it wasn’t that long ago I thought I’d never be able to pull ups either.

Currently I have yet to see anything in the gym that exhausts me quite as quickly as kettlebells. So when time is in short supply and you still want a serious work out I have to recommend you reach for the kettlebells, but don’t say I didn’t warn you first about how tough it can be.

Leave a Reply

