Living A Younger Life

Posted: January 29, 2014 in General, Motivation

For the past couple of years I’ve been unable to come up with a suitable description for what I want to achieve with my lifestyle. A big part of it has been me being unable to quantify what I want to achieve. Be fitter, healthier, better, more active physically and mentally. It’s all a bit vague. Fitter than what? Better than what? I’ve ben unable to convey in anything but the most general terms what my aim is.

This morning I had an ‘Eureka’ moment. I was just browsing the net and somehow I came across a website for Drenched Fitness in California. So not exactly local to me. However it looks an attractive site so I had a look around and came across this page. And there was exactly the description I’ve been looking for – ‘Living A Younger Life‘ – this sums up exactly what I’ve been trying to achieve. They may not be the first people to use the phrase, but its the first time I have seen it, so I’m giving them the credit for it.

Anyone reading that expression knows exactly what is intended. My mistake when trying to describe what I wanted to convey was too much analysis. Looking for things to compare to so I could describe a clear message. All I ended up doing was cluttering up the idea. The sheer simplicity of this statement is what makes it more effective. A classic case of when less is more.

Working it back into what I had though about originally and it becomes clearer. I’ll be fitter than the average person my age, I’ll have the fitness level of a younger person, same for healthier and being more active. I can’t turn back the clock, but how I am as I get older is down to me. Physically and mentally I intend to live a younger life.

How young? I don’t see why I can’t be as fit, healthy and active as just about anyone 10 years younger than me. In fact looking around at people going about their daily business I’m already there for a large percentage.

So that’s the overall goal, clearly defined. Live a younger life. And big thanks to Drenched Fitness for having the expression in the first place for me to use.

Leave a Reply

