Body Weight Workout

Posted: March 9, 2014 in Fitness, workouts

While flicking through the internet one day last week I came across Al Kavadlo and also BarStarrz whose fitness routines were unlike anything I have ever seen before. My first thought – how cool would it be to be able to do some of this stuff myself? My second thought was ‘I’m 48, these guys are fit as could be, I’ll never manage anything like that’. My third thought was ‘let’s give it a shot anyway’. So that’s the fitness plan for the next couple of months.

I’m really struck by Al Kavadlo, not only is he doing unbelievable fitness routines, but he does it with a big smile across his face the whole time.

AlKavadlo-Pistol-Squat AlKavadlo-Flag

There are plenty of times I can’t manage the smallest of grins at the gym, never mind beaming happiness. Fit as could be and with a positive attitude, now THAT’s a role model!

I’m not sure if I’ll ever be able to manage anything to the level Al is at, but its worth a shot. If nothing else it should make gym training a lot more interesting. I spoke to my trainer about this as a plan. We had a stab at some basic exercises about a week ago which clearly showed what I couldn’t do, along with a few bits I’m not too far away from (there is some light!). That resulted in the following workout, so that’s what I’ll be concentrating on for the next while.

Workout 1.
Warm up by doing 3 sets of these 2 exercises
Swings from the bar 20 reps – increasing the range each swing
Bear crawls 5 metres forward and backward

Worm – walk out on your hands as far as possible then slowly walk the feet back up to hands and repeat x 5 reps (3 sets)
Superset with:
Hanging from bar with bent arms/stabilise your torso and use a running action with legs x 30 secs (3 sets)

Dip bar leg raise 3 x 10 reps
Superset with:
Hanging knee raise 3 x 10 reps

Pull ups 3 x max reps
Superset with:
Dips 3 x max reps

TRX inverted row 1-3 x max reps
Superset with:
Press ups 1-3 x max reps – these are depending on time/energy

Workout 2.
Usual warm up circuit

Single leg squat and reach 2 x 10 side
Poliquin step up 2 x 15 reps
Deadlift – follow present set/rep structure
TRX single leg squat 3-4 x 10 side – if this is a problem then perform the version off the bench with a med ball for a counter balance. However the TRX version will allow a greater range of motion.
KB walking lunge 1- 2 x 10/side (max weight) depending on time/energy

As for the first week or so of training its gone OK. The exercises are very new compared to anything else I’ve done before. So at this stage I’m concentrating on the mechanics and trying to get form, but its going OK. The bar swings is the one that has caused me most difficulty, but I’m getting better at them. At the end of the upper body workout my arms feel so pumped I can barely move them, I hope in time as my body becomes accustomed to the exercises this will ease off.

Variety is the spice of life and exercising is no different. I’m already wondering if being able to do a muscle up by the end of the year is reasonable goal?

As for the big grin, that may take a lot longer.

Leave a Reply

